Monday, April 24, 2017


For Immediate Release

Three award-winning short films explore controversial issues within the APA community

NEW YORK, NY – April 24, 2017 – In celebration of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, HBO will debut HBO Asian Pacific American Visionaries, a collection of three short films by emerging APA directors, on May 1st across various HBO platforms. Exploring a range of controversial issues, the award-winning shorts examine crime, addiction and family turmoil within the APA community. Visionaries will be available on HBO NOW®, HBO GO®, HBO On Demand® and HBO Zone® throughout the month of May.

About the films
1. “Monday,” directed by Dinh Thai, follows a young drug dealer who finds himself struggling with the moral implications of his illicit profession.
2. “Wonderland,” directed by Tiffanie Hsu, explores the lonely and surreal world of a 12-year-old girl whose mother (played by Joan Chen) is a gambling addict.
3. “Toenail,” directed by Jingyi Shao, centers around a career-obsessed yuppie having to care for his ailing father on the eve of a major promotion.

The films were the winners of HBO’s first Asian Pacific American Visionaries Short Film Competition, a contest dedicated to discovering and showcasing up-and-coming American filmmakers of Asian Pacific descent. HBO will launch the 2017-18 edition of the competition this summer. For official rules and guidelines, visit

“Asian Pacific American Visionaries is a great example of HBO’s industry leadership in not only furthering the dialogue about race and representation in Hollywood, but also taking action,” said Jackie Gagne, Vice President of Multicultural Marketing. “We’re proud to provide an unprecedented platform for emerging APA filmmakers to showcase their talents and share their unique stories with a global audience.”

Home Box Office, Inc. is the premium television programming subsidiary of Time Warner Inc. and the world’s most successful pay TV service, providing the two television services – HBO® and Cinemax® – to approximately 134 million subscribers worldwide. The services offer the popular subscription video-on-demand products HBO On Demand® and Cinemax On Demand®, as well as HBO GO® and MAX GO®, HD feeds and multiplex channels. HBO NOW®, the network’s internet-only premium streaming service, provides audiences with instant access to HBO’s acclaimed programming in the U.S. Internationally, HBO branded television networks, along with the subscription video-on-demand products HBO On Demand and HBO GO, bring HBO services to over 60 countries. HBO and Cinemax programming is sold into over 150 countries worldwide.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

The Private Collection of Joan Rivers Christie's Auction House NYC

In honor of her late mother Joan Rivers, Melissa Rivers and Christie's Auction House NYC curated The Private Collection of Joan Rivers. The auction took place from 6~22~2016 - 6~23~2016 Consisting of an impressive collection of Fabergé, fine art, haute couture, antiques, jewelry, and objets d'art. The collection, much like it's collector, is at turns, whimsical, elegant, irreverent, classic.

Ms Rivers was a descendant of Russian aristocracy and many of her acquisitions were done with an eye toward recreating the luxury and opulence of her ancestry. i don't envy Melissa's task of determining which pieces to donate and which to retain. Aside from their priceless sentimental value they are all [monetarily speaking] top drawer.

i do not have the disposable income that would allow me to bid on the items in this extraordinary collection but thankfully the auction house did make them available for public viewing prior to sale. What i refer to as high-end window shopping was very satisfying. And it's wonderful to know that a portion of the sale's proceeds will be donated to charity. Well done Melissa. Well done Christie's. Well done Joan.

Below are some of the items from The Private Collection of Joan Rivers at Christie's Auction House NYC

Joan Rivers' quote on charitable acts [photo/edit by sookietex]

Sunday, May 22, 2016

NBC's The Carmichael Show Renewed for 3rd Season

i am happy to share the *news that NBC has renewed The Carmichael Show for a 3rd season. In case you haven't seen it The Carmichael Show is one of the funniest on network tv.

It is a fictionalized version of the life of stand-up Jarrod Carmichael and his family. Jarrod stars as Jarrod Carmichael. Amber Stevens West [real life daughter of radio personality Shadoe Stevens] as Maxine, Jarrod's girlfriend. Adorable Loretta Devine as his mom Cynthia. The always funny David Alan Grier as his dad Joe. Chicago stand-up Li'l Rel Howery as Jarrod's brother Bobby. And as Bobby's amiably outlandish wife Nekeisha [they're separated but still friends], triple threat [actress/commedienne/dancer] Tiffany Haddish.

The best thing about this show is it's lack of fear of subject matter. Some of the plots from it's 2nd season were the Bill Cosby scandal. Cyber bullying. social media: what's appropriate and not appropriate to post and who is deciding each. Marijuana: medicinal and recreational use. Racial/ethnic profiling---is it wrong or a crime deterrent? The battle of the sexes. Depression. These and other polarizing topics make up the show's plots and they're always presented in a provocative, but most importantly funny and entertaining way. There aren't many comedies that can make that claim and those that try usually aren't as adept as The Carmichael Show.

The Carmichael Show airs Sundays at 9PM ET on NBC [please check your local listings]

Connect with The Carmichael Show on twitter: CarmichaelShow

Connect with The Carmichael Show on facebook: The Carmichael Show Official facebook

Connect with The Carmichael Show on G+: The Carmichael Show Official G+

No space on your DVR? No problem Full free episodes of The Carmichael Show are available at the official site

Source: *The Hollywood Reporter